Submit incident
Documented

Sony Charged Some PlayStation Customers 28 Percent More for the Same Game and Told Nobody

January 1, 2025
Curated by Team Raidu · Reviewed by Shiva Ganesh
aiaaic:AIAAIC2247View source ↗
LinkedInX

What happened

Sony ran a controlled pricing experiment on the PlayStation Store starting in November 2025 without disclosing it to any of the users who became its subjects. Customers across more than 70 countries were quietly sorted into test and control groups, and the prices they saw for the same digital games were adjusted based on which group they landed in. Nobody consented. Nobody was told.

The test, internally labeled "IPT_PILOT," began with roughly 50 games. By February 2026 it had expanded to more than 190 titles, including first-party hits like Spider-Man 2. While Sony framed the experiment primarily as a "dynamic discounts" program (meaning some users received lower prices), the gap ran both directions in practice. Some users paid up to 27.8 percent more than other customers for an identical product, purchased at the same moment, from the same digital storefront, on the same hardware.

Initial reports surfaced on Reddit in November 2025, where players began comparing receipts and noticing discrepancies they could not explain. Sony offered no public comment. By March 6, 2026, major gaming publications had independently confirmed the scale of the test by querying the PlayStation Store's own API data, which exposed the pricing tiers without Sony's cooperation or acknowledgment.

The backlash centered not just on the price gap itself but on the conditions under which it operated. Customers had no mechanism to know they were enrolled in a pricing experiment, no way to exit it, and no recourse when they discovered they had paid more than a peer for the same title. A UK class action lawsuit covering PlayStation Store purchases through February 12, 2026 went to trial on March 4, 2026 and seeks GBP 2 billion in damages, though that case was originally brought over broader concerns about Sony's market position rather than the IPT_PILOT experiment specifically.

The core failure here is not that Sony experimented with pricing algorithms. Retailers test pricing constantly. The failure is that no mechanism existed to surface what the algorithm actually did to which customers, when, and at what magnitude. A provable record of what a system did, visible to both the customer and a regulator, would have made the experiment either defensible or impossible to run quietly. Without that record, users only found out they had paid a premium because someone posted their receipt on Reddit.

Reported impact

Affected parties
Not publicly disclosed
Harm type
Not publicly disclosed
Scale
Not publicly disclosed
Financial impact
Not publicly disclosed
Regulatory action
Not publicly disclosed

Classification

Organization
Not publicly disclosed
AI system
Not publicly disclosed
Industry
Not publicly disclosed
Country
Not publicly disclosed
Provider
Not publicly disclosed
Incident type
Not publicly disclosed

Relevant governance controls

Governance control mapping is not available for this record.

  • No controls mappedNot publicly disclosed

Control mapping is analytical. It does not state that any control would have prevented the incident.

Sources and evidence

This record was researched and written by the Index. The event is also catalogued in the following database, which is listed for cross-reference.

AIAAIC Repository
Also catalogued in
Sony Charged Some PlayStation Customers 28 Percent More for the Same Game and Told Nobody
2025